Originally named South Side Day Nursery, the Center has a rich history of providing child care for South Side residents of the City of Columbus.
In 1921, many mothers were working in warehouses waiting for fathers to return from war and children were fending for themselves. Lydia Pleukharp, President of the Work and Pleasure Club, saw that South Side children had a critical need for regular meals, baths, and naps. With the help of community organizations, the Day Nursery was founded in 1922 and located at 82 Reeb Avenue. Due to increasing enrollment and inadequate space, the building at 255 Reeb Avenue was donated to the Day Nursery by local philanthropist Mrs. W. A. Miller in 1927. The name was changed to South Side Learning & Development Center (SSLDC) in 1984 and in September, 2015 SSLDC moved to its current location at 280 Reeb Avenue.